The Honor of Mothering –Mother’s Day Note

 

prggo

 

Peace & Grace to each of you my lovely Shugas…

This is my Mother’s Day edition mound of love and truth I must share with you.  Just Christmas, New Years and some other holidays, media and society has taken it somewhere that is very commercial. And although it is an observed holiday we have got to remember my beautiful ones that we must celebrate our mothers every day and not just the Sunday set aside. It is not about the grandest gift nor greatest deed, it’s all about love.  For many it is a triumph getting through for having lost a mother or mother figure, so some choose to not acknowledge it.  My personal perspective is to respect the choices of others because we all heal, deal and accept things differently.  Let us also be reminded that not only those that birth children are mothers either.  Those nurturers who may have never given birth are some of the key ingredients in our lives that make us who we are.  That elder in the community, that mother in the church who never carried a fetus but mothered more children to count.  For those caretakers and sweet souls that step in when parents are nowhere to be found and cradle seeds from birth, from the streets or those that are lost.  For the foster moms that open their open hearts and homes to unwanted and broken ones, loving and caring for them until they are ready to fly further in their journey.  For the aunties and big sisters who are the “Jr. Mothers” on patrol when mom wasn’t around or until she returned.  And last but not least for all those women carrying  a dream in their soul, you dear beautiful one, are bearing a seed that shall come to fruition and be birthed when the Most High crowns that vision with his blessing your birthing shall release some spectacular and Divine.

In memory of my Grandma East Mae who birthed my mom and late auntie, I celebrate her everyday with the lessons my mom passed and continues to pass on. Much love and endless kisses to heaven to my Auntie Eve for being the sugar and spice that molded me to be a unique one and embody the womanly soul of the model of being a leader.  To my Granny, Phe Phe, for the old soul and sweet essence of being stern, loving and being secure in being a strong woman independently, if I could hug you now, I know it was exude scents of pond face cream, sweet and gentle just as you.. Last but certainly not least, to my Mother, my sweet Rock, I am grateful that God allowed me to be wombed in your belly.  For all the lessons learned and all the talks and wisdom, I open my ears and heart for you to pour in as much as you can so that I may be a fraction of the greatness you are.  My love and words are my greatest assets I have to offer you, because they don’t and won’t expire.  Blessings to all the mothers and mothers to be near and far, known and unknown.  Love up on your moms if they are still present and for those that have transitioned, carry them in remembrance of the lessons and all of them that lives within you.  Love & Blessings to you, you, you and you.… Monique “1MOpoeticSOUL”D.

Leave a Reply

